Diseases:As Strange As It Gets

In a world like ours, diseases are sometimes disregarded by people. Colds? Fever? Cough? Normal stuff. But this disease is just difficult to ignore. Why?

Dancing Plague

Do you guys enjoy dancing? How much? So much that you can’t stop? Then you may be a candidate for the Dancing Plague.

The first recorded occurence of this disease happened in July 1518 when a woman, Frau Troffea, began to dance fervently in a street in Strasbourg. It’s located in France. She danced for about 4-6 days. Within a week, 34 others had joined, and within a month, there were around 400 dancers. Seems like a very contagious disease.

You think dancing makes you feel so alive? Think again. After nonstop dancing, most of the dancers died of either heart attack, stroke, or exhaustion.

So… Why didn’t someone stop them? Don’t ask me. But hey, they tried. I guess.  The plague worsened as time went by. To stop this plague, some CONCERNED nobles sought the advice of local physicians. Seems like the most sane thing to do. Right? Right! This will put an end to this. Wait… No. Turns out, the physicians, using their utmost wit and skills, diagnosed the cause as astrological and supernatural instead announcing that the plague was a “natural disease” caused by “hot blood”. Hey, it’s 1518 for crying out loud.

The cure? Or should I say, their cure? They opened two guildhalls and a grain market, and even constructed a wooden stage. Why? The EXPERTS thought that if they danced continously, they would eventually get tired and recover back to normality. That’s not all! They even hired musicians to keep them going.

Probable causes?

Here are few probable causes of the disease:

1. Mass psychogenic illness-also known as Mass Hysteria. It is the sociopsychological phenomenon of the manifestation of the same or similar hysterical symptoms by more than one person. A very weird way to get a disease, if you ask me. Mass hysteria typically begins when an individual becomes ill or hysterical during a period of stress. After this initial individual shows symptoms, others begin to manifest similar symptoms, typically nausea, muscle weakness, fits or headache.

2. Ergotism-is the effect of long-term ergot poisoning, traditionally due to the ingestion of the alkaloids produced by the Claviceos purpurea fungus which infects rye and other cereals, and more recently by the action of a number of ergoline-based drugs.(???) Simply put, it results from consuming ergot-laced bread.

Dance? Anyone?

8 Responses to “Diseases:As Strange As It Gets”

  1. making money from home Says:

    It is actually a nice and useful piece of info.

    I am happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bluehost Coupon Says:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I
    think I would never understand. It seems too complex and
    extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  3. InMotion Coupon Says:

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. NetFirms Coupon Says:

    Excellent article. I am experiencing many of these issues
    as well..

  5. NetFirms Coupon Says:

    Good post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thank you!

  6. Go Daddy Coupon Says:

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  7. Godaddy Review Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web
    address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

  8. My Movie Pass Review Says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly return.

Leave a Reply

